7Geese is setup with 4 permission levels: super admin, admin, manager, and non-management users. Here is a summary of what each level can do and access.
Super Admins & Admins
Super admins and admins are indicated with a star next to their name on the people page and on their user profiles. Super admins have full control over user permissions including granting admin permissions to a user.
As an administrator, you can*:
- Customize all organization settings such as creating badges, setting up feedback and 1-on-1 global templates, managing labels, and customizing the navigation menu.
- Set organization level objectives
- View all objectives listed with privacy restrictions
- Have access to all 1-on-1s saved in 7Geese regardless if they're finalized
- Delete recognitions and check-ins written by anyone (please note that modifications to objectives cannot be deleted from the feed)
- Add and manage other administrators
- De-activate and re-activate users
- Access to the reporting centre
- Edit any user's information
- Setup integrations
- Update billing details
Note: The only feature that administrators do not have super-user access to is Feedback. The feedback exchanged between team members are not viewable by administrators unless they are part of the feedback sessions.
*Some content can be restricted from visibility depending on an admin's content access permissions. For more information on content access, see below.
Admins > Content Access
All admins have access to the org settings which is separated from content privacy.
- Only super-admins can grant content access and grant the super-admin role to others
- Admins need to be granted access to content as they will not receive full content access by default. This includes superadmins who will have to grant themselves content access
- Content access can be granted on a per-department basis if desired
Content available to an admin with content visibility:
- 1-on-1s that are shared with admins
- Feedback that is shared with admins
- All private Objectives
- All Reviews
- Only super-admins can change the content visibility for themselves and other admins
- The first admin in a new network (the network creator) will be granted super-admin permissions by default
- Only super-admins can grant super-admin permissions to other users
- The 7Geese team can also grant super-admin permissions to users (firstname.lastname@example.org)
Admins > Content Visibility Groups
To enable more granular control over the private content that admins are able to see, we have added the ability to provision content visibility to admins by department(s).
- Admins with a content visibility group enabled will have access to private content for members of that particular group.
- Ex: An admin with an "Engineering department" group would be able to see all 1-on-1s, Feedback, and private Objectives for all members of the Engineering department.
- By default, no admin has content visibility groups selected, not even the initial super admin.
- Super admins can change the content visibility groups for their own account
Sub-departments or no sub-departments
- Super-admins have the ability to choose if sub-departments are included when granting content visibility access for a specific department to admins. If this setting is on, the admin would be able to see all content for users in sub-departments of the parent department. If it is off, then the admin would only have content visibility for users in the parent department, and not in the sub-departments.
- By default, this option is set to include sub-departments in content visibility settings.
Admins > Controlled Actions
All admins still have access to all controlled actions in the app, except any action that provides visibility to content that the admin does not have permission to see.
Controlled actions include, but are not limited to:
- Access to org settings pages
- Access to reporting pages
- Ability to create organizational objectives
- Ability to invite & deactivate users
Controlled actions that have been updated to reflect new privacy settings:
- "Export data" tab in Org Settings –
- All admins can view the "Export data" tab, but only admins with “Everyone” content settings would be able to click the "Export data" button.
- Admins without the appropriate permissions would see a disabled "Export data" button and a notice that they do not have the appropriate content visibility permissions to export data
Managers are indicated with a M next to their name on the people page and on their user profiles.
As a manager, you can have access to:
- Set departmental objectives
- Access to restricted objectives set by their direct reports
- Create department/team specific 1-on-1 templates shared with direct reports
- Access to the reporting centre
Note: If you change reporting managers, the new manager will have access to all the previously done 1:1s with the direct reports, any feedback shared with previous manager and the restricted objectives.
All users, regardless if they have other permissions, have access to:
- Set and align individual objectives
- Check into personal objectives that you are a participant of
- Join-as stakeholder/follower to objectives
- Recognize peers/receive recognition
- Give and receive feedback to anyone
- Post to the feed of any objective
- Post to the general feed
- Complete 1-on-1s with your direct report
- Invite team members
The following are permissions that can be changed through the org settings:
- Editing departments.
- Creating department objectives.
- Allowing 1-on-1s to be done with everyone, or just the manager and reporting tree.